That all Congolese, in both rural and urban areas, have access to sustainable, affordable and quality energy services by 2030.

Defining and implementing energy policies and projects should be carried out in a participatory manner. It should respect human rights, including economic, social and cultural rights, be conducted in good governance, and be in control of the environmental and social impacts.

The Inga 3 project, as it is currently developed, is not well suited for the vision we have. The Democratic Republic of Congo should invest in developing power pools within its territory that are in line with its goal of becoming an emerging market by 2030.

The general public and the local population in particular have not been consulted in advance by public survey regarding the project as planned in Article 24 of the law regarding the fundamental principles of the environment. No environmental and social impact assessment has been conducted to date and no mitigation and environmental management plan has been adopted.


This STOP INGA 3 site lets the world know that the project in its current state goes against the vision we have regarding accessible energy across the Democratic Republic of Congo.

A project that doesn’t benefit the people of Congo: To date, plans for the project Inga 3 have prioritized supplying power to neighbouring countries and to the mining industry in Congo. Energy developments that power mining projects in DRC seldom if ever extend access to electricity to surrounding communities.

A costly megaproject: Regardless of the project financial model being proposed, the cost estimate is 14 billion US dollars. As such, Inga 3 comes with a high price tag and the likelihood of cost overruns could undermine future generations and thwart ambitions of a developed DRC. The Democratic Republic of Congo should use its available and diverse energy resources to develop a decentralized energy system, and avoid putting all its efforts and resources in the Inga 3 project which will not benefit the majority of the Congolese population.

Weak Governance and Lack of Transparency: The Inga 3 project lacks a formal mechanism for sharing information in accordance with Article 24 of the Constitution which provides for the right of access to information. Since November 2015, the Grand Inga project has been entrusted by order to the Agency for the Promotion and Development of the Grand Inga Project (ADPI), an entity that is directly under the control of the Presidency of the Republic and which completely escapes any independent oversight and control of the institutions responsible for overseeing major public projects. A few months after the creation of the ADPI, the World Bank suspended the financing of Inga 3.

Ecological and social damage: As it stands, the Inga 3 is a project with significant potential of ecological and social damage. The environmental impacts associated with climate change and resettlement of an entire population in the Inga area would make this project an extremely risky endeavour for Congolese communities whose lives would be most impacted.


To date, numerous civil society organizations have publicly denounced the project and more than twelve thousand residents have signed a petition to express their dissatisfaction. CLICK HERE to view the petition


We are a group of eight Congolese civil society organizations that have long documented many human, social and governance concerns related to the Inga 3 project.

We are supported by several other Congolese organizations and movements and we act in synergy with the more than 12,000 habitants of the Inga site who signed a petition to denounce this new hydroelectric project.

Regardless of the project financial model, with a cost estimate of 13.9 billion US dollars, we believe Inga 3 comes with a high price tag and the likelihood of cost overruns inherent to mega projects will undermine future generations and thwart all ambitions of a developed DRC.

— Civil Society Organisations in the Democratic Republic of Congo

We ask that the Government of the Democratic Republic of Congo and its partners abandon the implementation of the Inga 3 project in order to focus on developing its enormous sustainable energy potential to effectively meet its national service needs and its goals as an emerging nation.

Overly expensive Megaproject
Ecological and social damage
Lack of transparency
Relocation of local populations

Please fill this form to join the campaign to Stop Inga 3.We will contact you.

This information will not be shared publicly without your consent.

Que tous les Congolais, tant en milieu rural qu’en milieu urbain, aient accès aux services énergétiques durables, abordables et de qualité à l’horizon 2030.

La définition et l’application des politiques et des projets énergétiques devraient être faites de manière participative, dans le respect des droits humains, dont les droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, dans la bonne gouvernance, et avec une maîtrise des impacts sociaux et environnementaux des projets.

Le projet Inga tel qu’il est conçu aujourd’hui ne correspond pas à notre vision. La République Démocratique du Congo devrait plutôt s’investir à développer à l’intérieur de son territoire des pools énergétiques conformes à ses ambitions d’émergence à l’horizon 2030.

Le public en général, et la population locale en particulier, n'ont pas été consultés à travers une enquête publique préalable sur le projet, tel que prévu à l’article 24 de la Loi portant principes fondamentaux de l’environnement. De plus, aucune étude d’impact environnementale et sociale n’a été réalisée jusqu’à ce jour, et aucun plan d’atténuation et de gestion environnementale n’a été adopté.


Le site STOP INGA 3 annonce au monde que le projet Inga tel qu’il est conçu aujourd’hui ne correspond pas à notre vision pour l’accès à l’énergie pour tous en République Démocratique du Congo.

Un projet qui n’est pas bénéfique au peuple congolais: Jusqu’à ce jour, les plans du projet Inga 3 ont fait de l’approvisionnement en électricité des pays voisins et de l’industrie minière au Congo une priorité. Les projets énergétiques qui approvisionnent l’industrie minière en DRC élargissent presque jamais l’accès à l’électricité aux communautés environnantes.

Un mégaprojet trop coûteux: Quel que soit le modèle financier du projet proposé, le coût est estimé à 14 milliards de dollars américains. Ainsi, Inga 3 est un projet coûteux et la probabilité de dépassements de coûts pourrait miner les générations futures et contrecarrer les ambitions d’une RDC développée. La République démocratique du Congo devrait utiliser ses ressources énergétiques disponibles et diversifiées pour développer un système énergétique décentralisé et éviter de consacrer tous ses efforts et ressources au projet Inga 3 qui ne bénéficiera pas à la majorité de la population congolaise.

Faible gouvernance et manque de transparence: Le projet Inga 3 manque un mécanisme officiel de partage d’information en accord avec l’article 24 de la Constitution qui prévoit le droit à l’accès à l’information. Depuis novembre 2015, le projet Grand Inga est confié par ordonnance à l’Agence pour la promotion et le développement du projet Grand Inga (ADPI), une entité qui est directement sous le contrôle de la présidence de la République et qui échappe complètement à toute surveillance indépendante et au contrôle des institutions chargées de surveiller les grands projets publics. Quelques mois après la création de l’ADPI, la Banque mondiale a suspendu le financement d’Inga 3.

Dégâts écologiques et sociaux: Le projet Inga 3 est un projet qui présente un risque important de dommages écologiques et sociaux. Les impacts environnementaux associés au changement climatique et à la réinstallation d’une population entière dans la région d’Inga rendent ce projet extrêmement risqué pour les communautés congolaises touchées.


Jusqu'à présent, plusieurs organisations de la société civile ont dénoncé publiquement ce projet et plus de douze mille résidents ont signé une pétition pour exprimer leur désarroi. → CLIQUEZ ICI pour consulter la pétition.


Nous sommes un groupe de huit organisations de la société civile congolaise qui depuis longtemps documentent de nombreuses préoccupations humaines, sociales et de gouvernance liées au projet Inga 3.

Nous sommes appuyées par plusieurs autres organisations et mouvements congolais et nous agissons en synergie avec les plus de 12,000 habitats du site d’Inga qui ont signé une pétition pour dénoncer ce nouveau projet hydroélectrique.

« Quel que soit le modèle financier du projet, dont le coût estimatif est 13,9 milliards de dollars US, nous estimons qu'Inga 3 a un coût élevé et que les risques de dépassement de coûts liés aux mégaprojets vont miner les générations futures et contrecarrer toutes les ambitions de la RDC développée. »

— Organisations de la société civile en République démocratique du Congo

Nous demandons au Gouvernement de la République Démocratique du Congo et ses partenaires d’abandonner la mise en œuvre du projet Inga 3 pour se consacrer prioritairement à la mise en valeur de son énorme potentiel énergétique durable pour répondre efficacement à ses besoins de desserte nationale et ses ambitions de nation émergente.

Mégaprojet trop coûteux
Dégâts écologiques et sociaux
Manque de transparence
Délocalisations des populations locales

Veuillez remplir le formulaire pour vous joindre à la campagne Stop Inga 3. Nous prendrons contact avec vous.

Vos informations ne seront pas partagées publiquement sans votre consentement.